top of page

Music & Life...

Hello Bummer Campers!

Today I’m to include some of my favourite vocals that I feel really reach my core, the interpretations or feelings they invoke will be different from one person to another, and to some, possibly nothing at all. I’m going to listen to each track, whilst I’m writing, to try and draw them out, and hopefully get something I’m happy with - in terms of accurate emotion-to-word explaining (a rarity, I assure you). I’ve used acoustic versions where I feel appropriate, the logic being it’s easier to relate to the vocal if it’s from a genre that challenges ones musical tastes! The idea for this, grew from being asked: “why do you listen to depressing music” and the reply is simple: on its basic level, it is indeed, a sad song. When you relate to a ‘sad song’ and you feel the artist pouring emotion into the lyrics, what has been considered depressing, transforms into comfort, understanding, and on occasions, strength.

To hear someone else speak/sing of things I feel on the “side I don’t show to anyone“** (relevant later) or in other words, my naked core, it lightens the load of the emotion I feel I carry, because I don’t feel so alone in feeling it? If that makes any sense! My buddy glen has long since seen my dissociative behaviour, and always kept telling me what I’d lost when I lost my association to the music I love. Years later, I’m re-finding my way, and what do you know, music has a lot of the answers (if you allow it) Anyway, to the music: Ferry Corsten feat Betsie Larkin ‘Not Coming Down’ (Acoustic Edit)

This one is an absolute romancer, drawing you into the clouds, up, up and away, for me it has always reminded me of the feeling being behind the decks and being in the zone. A state, of Euphoria.

The lyric that really strikes my core in this one is: “Cause I’m not coming down, cause I’m sure that the world, that I see, in my mind, has changed” – the feeling that you are powerless to influence the torrents of life around you. To feel you may not be alone in that? Liberating.

Christina Novelli – ‘Concrete Angel’ Acoustic

This one… in my mind, sung from the perspective of everyone in my life care about, and the unwilling destruction my nature carries, the pain in this vocal is a source of great strength in dire times, determined to keep pushing through the walls of concrete and to never let those walls reach a rigid maturity. #NEVERGIVEUP!

Westlife – ‘You Raise Me Up’

This one has it all, and relevant to Concrete Angel, for to me, it the opposite perception, the one to date ive struggled to see, this song would dedicate to all the people concrete angel makes me think about… About as deep as I willing to go with this one right now. Onto the next, and last for today I think. :) (and yes, westlife - see NO SHAME!!! :P )

Dash Berlin feat Jonathan Mendelsohn – ‘Better Half of Me’ Acoustic

** - the origin of the lyric quoted at the beginning

This tune from the very second I heard it, enthralled me – for it is not only a verse here or there, this says it all for me, the self-doubt, the constant hiding, and by subsequence, deceit… I fall forever, endlessly.

Through all the tears, and the pain, that’s comfort for me, and has been many a time, so the next time someone is listening to a sad song, pay a closer attention, you never know what you might learn?

Until tomorrow Bum to the Er Campers.

Smiffy xx


Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon

© Smiffy Bummer Camp 2023

 

bottom of page